ASR Honours Deserving Members with Awards

Saskatoon, May 3, 2019:
Each year, the Association of Saskatchewan REALTORS® (ASR) recognizes Saskatchewan REALTORS® who have shown outstanding leadership and supported the industry and their association through Honourary Life Membership (HLM) and the ASR Distinguished REALTOR® Award presented by Canadian Mortgage & Housing Corporation (CMHC).

At the Annual General Meeting held in Regina on April 18, ASR President Teressa Mannle presented the HLM to long-time member and past ASR President Rich Jeanneau. Jeanneau, a Saskatoon REALTOR®, has served as a Director and President of both the ASR and Saskatoon Region Association of REALTORS® (SRAR). His commitment to the industry is endless, as is evident by his long-term commitment to volunteer positions within the associations, as well as with the Saskatchewan Real Estate Commission. His contributions to government relations and his dedication to creating a single REALTOR® association in the province have made significant impacts in the industry.

This year, the ASR Distinguished REALTOR® Award presented by CMHC took on a new look, with not one, but two recipients. 2018 was one of the most significant years in Saskatchewan real estate, in large part due to the work of the Member Forward Working Group for a Single REALTOR® Association in Saskatchewan. The passion and dedication of the two co-chairs was an inspiration to all committee members, and REALTORS® throughout the province, and this year, both were recognized with the Distinguished REALTOR® award. Steven Bobiash, Saskatoon REALTOR® and past President of SRAR and Dave Markus, Regina REALTOR® and current President of the Association of Regina REALTORS® (ARR) put in countless hours and inordinate effort to ensure the success of the initiative. On March 19, Saskatchewan REALTORS® voted in favour of pursuing a single REALTOR® association, which will take effect on January 1, 2020.

Said Bill Madder, CEO of the ASR, “Each of these recipients played a huge role in ensuring the future success of organized real estate in Saskatchewan, so it only made sense to recognize each of them at our final AGM.”

Adds Mannle, “We’re lucky to have such dedicated and driven volunteers as Rich, Dave and Steven. I’ve been fortunate to work alongside them through this process and can’t think of anyone more deserving of recognition.”

The Association of Saskatchewan REALTORS® is the primary advocate for the real estate community in Saskatchewan. As a not-for-profit organization, it provides direction, leadership and support services to its members, the industry and the public. Through effective communication and quality education, the Association also strives to ensure a healthy real estate environment that allows for increased quality of life in our communities. Real estate is at the core of our economy and advocating for a strategic sustainable approach ensures continued growth and prosperity in Saskatchewan.